Asking Paul Krugman about Super Bowl Ads

by pdxblake

And this is the moment when I start to ask what the hell they are doing to Paul Krugman.  Super Bowl ads?  I don’t care about his opinion of Super Bowl ads.  Although I do appreciate that he is distressed that the Rolling Stones have entirely sold out (but is he surprises? is he just realizing now?).  The marginal utility to Mick Jagger of having more money far exceeds the marginal disutility from selling out.

And on to Paul

I’m Stephanopoulizing tomorrow, and as part of the preparation I had to watch a bunch of Superbowl ads. There went a series of 30-second chunks of my life I’ll never get back.

But one ad really disturbed me — and no, it wasn’t the one with Bar Rafaeli. You see, I remember when the Rolling Stones were the Rolling Stones, and would sing things like this:

When I’m watchin’ my T.V.
And that man comes on to tell me
How white my shirts can be
But he can’t be a man ’cause he doesn’t smoke
The same cigarrettes as me

And now “Sympathy for the devil” is the sound track for a Mercedes ad. Yes, I know that there’s supposed to be some irony, because the car doesn’t cost as much as you’d think, and they’re making a joke about expecting Kate Upton to come with the package. But still …

If you’re still reading, is this some plot by the cyborgs who control George Stephanopolous to neuter Paul Krugman’s message by asking him about entirely unrelated issues.

